[ Free epub ] The Promise of Happiness Author Erin Kaye – Vansonphu.com

The Promise of Happiness Louise McNeill arrives home to the idyllic Irish town of Ballyfergus, hoping that it will provide the sanctuary she desperately craves Starting again with her three year old son Oli, Louise s heart is full of apprehensionTo make matters worse, Louise s sister Joanne seems far from happy as she watches Louise s little family blossom But as Joanne grapples with her perfect marriage, is everything as idyllic as it seems Meanwhile Louise s youngest sister Sian has decided she doesn t want children and wants to dedicate her life to ecological living with husband Andy But is this a mask to disguise a bigger issue And is Andy ready to sacrifice parenthood Join the McNeill family as they attempt to come together to provide the love and support that they all need, whether they know it or not It s a family affair Louise McNeill arrives home to the idyllic Irish town of Ballyfergus, hoping that it will provide the sanctuary she desperately craves Starting again with her three year old son Oli, Louise s heart is full of apprehension.To make matters worse, Louise s sister Joanne seems far from happy as she watches Louise s little family blossom But as Joanne grapples with her perfect marriage, is everything as idyllic as it seems Meanwhile Louise s youngest sister Sian has decided s It s a family affair Louise McNeill arrives home to the idyllic Irish town of Ballyfergus, hoping that it will provide the sanctuary she desperately craves Starting again with her three year old son Oli, Louise s heart is full of apprehension.To make matters worse, Louise s sister Joanne seems far from happy as she watches Louise s little family blossom But as Joanne grapples with her perfect marriage, is everything as idyllic as it seems Meanwhile Louise s youngest sister Sian has decided she doesn t want children and wants to dedicate her life to ecological living with husband Andy But is this a mask to disguise a bigger issue And is Andy ready to sacrifice parenthood Join the McNeill family as they attempt to come together to provide the love and support that they all need whether they know it or not Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Cathy Kelly I quite liked this novel It was light and easy to read in spite of several characters anguish about their situations.The ending was resolved fairly easily almost too easily but that didn t detract from the fact that I was looking for a pleasant read and this was it. Erin Kaye came to my attention last year when I saw the beautiful green cover for her novel The Art of Friendship I managed to get my hands on a copy, though I haven t yet read it oops I saw Erin was due a new book out in July this year called The Promise of Happiness and I thought the novel sounded interesting and I accepted the chance to review the novel It has a beautiful, summery cover and the synopsis made it sound like a good family saga, so I settled down to read it hoping it would l Erin Kaye came to my attention last year when I saw the beautiful green cover for her novel The Art of Friendship I managed to get my hands on a copy, though I haven t yet read it oops I saw Erin was due a new book out in July this year called The Promise of Happiness and I thought the novel sounded interesting and I accepted the chance to review the novel It has a beautiful, summery cover and the synopsis made it sound like a good family saga, so I settled down to read it hoping it would live up to my expectations.The back cover of The Promise of Happiness says that the novel is perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Cathy Kelly I ve not read any of Maeve s novels and only one of Cathy s and after finishing this book I d say they were right From what I ve read of reviews of Maeve and Cathy s books, their novels are slower than most Chick Lit novels even erring onto the Women s Fiction side The Promise of Happiness is not the novel you want if you like your Chick Lit fast paced with heroines who lunge from one catastrophe to the next in the most endearing way possible I m generally not a big fan of the slowerfamily oriented novels but for the most part I liked The Promise of Happiness It s definitely not my kind of book it s only now, two years on from reading Chick Lit that I really know my kind of read but I enjoyed it nonetheless.I did have some issues over the book, I did think Louise worried a lot over her son, Oli Not allowing him sweets, not allowing him to watch TV, it s obviously the thing now for kids to watch no TV and to not eat sweets I think because it s borderline illegal that s a joke, as far as I m aware kids are still allowed to watch TV and eat sweets, it just depends on the rents I don t want to get all up on Erin Kaye for writing Louise like that because that is the way children are treated now it seems Unlike when I was a kid which wasn t that long ago things have definitely changed and I do find it hard to swallow when I read of a mother who consistently talks about healthy living It might be proper and real, but I watched TV and ate sweets as a kid and many people would say I m doing a ok I haven t murdered anybody, I ve never been arrested, I m not a TV addict honestly or a food addict honestly and to me, I do think parents nowawadays arePC over everything I mean a bag of Maltesers isn t going to make Oli fat, but Louise pours him a few in a bowl and chucks the rest away It was a bit too OTT for me, that On the other hand, though, Erin presents the opposite of Louise as her sister Joanne allows her kids to watch TV and things, so I suppose both sides of the coin are presented and I infinitely preferred Joanne s parenting method.Considering Joanne, Louise and Sian are all sisters, I ve never met three people to be such opposites of each other can three be considered opposites Well they are for the purpose of this review Louise was a very strict ish parent, Joanne let her kids get on with it whilst Sian didn t want kids If there s one thing I hate reading about in fiction, it s eco warriors I understand the world is crumbling allegedly , I understand global warming is happening allegedly but I don t want to hear about it in fiction If the world is going to end, quite honestly, it will end whether or not there are eco warriors about, honest Well, that s what I think anyway I found Sian s constant campaigning that people shouldn t have kids because it s overpopulating to be crass You tell your sister she s selfish because she decided to have a baby because it means oneperson in an already full apparently world I don t want to see the people who live their lives ecologically sound beat the people who don t across the head It could perhaps be wrong of me to not want to read about eco people, but honestly It bores me I don t want to read a long chapter on better living Nothing would put me asleep faster, although for the most part I did find Sian s chapters to not be as heavy as I expected them to be.I did find the book to be very readable, despite the long chapters and slow pace It wasn t a terrible book and I ve mentioned the issues I had with the novel and balanced them out with the other side of the argument It would be debateable if I d try another of Erin s novels I ve definitely learned recently that I prefer my Chick Lit withpace to it, rather than themundane to me, before I offend anyone family dramas The Promise of Happiness will indeed be one that many people enjoy and I d definitely say that my reading experience was positive of the book Erin Kaye s writing style is fairly easy to follow, and moves along nicely, too The characters were diverse as I ve mentioned and the separate choices each sister has to deal with were interesting, as they had to compromise and make big decisions I did guess what Joanne s husband Phil was up to It was blindly obvious to me, so much so that I was surprised Joanne didn t see it I d definitely recommend this to Cathy Kelly fans, they ll really lap it up This book was good I guess It was mostly about family, relationships and starting over It s not that I didn t like this book but I would ve prefered to read somethinginteresting. Single Mum Louise McNeill and her son Oliver has ,made a fresh start and moved from Edinburgh back home to Ballyfergus Joanne her sister has found her a flat, she is shocked at how much her Mum s health has deteriorated but she will be able to help out a bitwith her parents However she is going to have to look for a job as she needs the income.Joanne is stressed with her life and children is her marriage in trouble Sian is the youngest she is engaged to Andy they are both Eco Warriors, Single Mum Louise McNeill and her son Oliver has ,made a fresh start and moved from Edinburgh back home to Ballyfergus Joanne her sister has found her a flat, she is shocked at how much her Mum s health has deteriorated but she will be able to help out a bitwith her parents However she is going to have to look for a job as she needs the income.Joanne is stressed with her life and children is her marriage in trouble Sian is the youngest she is engaged to Andy they are both Eco Warriors, and they don t want children But do they really want the same things I loved this book from the pretty cover to the end, it was easy to read and follow, I would definitely recommend A lovely heart warming story, lots of twists turns that keep you guessing almost to the end about how their stories lives are going to turn out A lovely heart warming story, lots of twists turns that keep you guessing almost to the end about how their stories lives are going to turn out Just lovely I ll be getting all her other books I enjoyed this book The author is able to share the character s thoughts quite conversationally in real language and in the ways people women actually do think I thought at times of a character gosh she s really torturing herself then realised I do exactly the same thing The story is about 3 sisters whose lives and relationships with their men and children are the central theme with break ups, new relationships born, and plenty of dramas along the way It was a light refresing rea I enjoyed this book The author is able to share the character s thoughts quite conversationally in real language and in the ways people women actually do think I thought at times of a character gosh she s really torturing herself then realised I do exactly the same thing The story is about 3 sisters whose lives and relationships with their men and children are the central theme with break ups, new relationships born, and plenty of dramas along the way It was a light refresing read and it is LOVELY to read a book with a happy ending Thanks for the loan, Sandie Loved this book, could nt wait to pick it up and read it, when it was quiet, really a lovely book..


About the Author: Erin Kaye

Erin Kaye real name Patricia Kay was born in Larne, Northern Ireland in 1966 She studied Geography at the University of Ulster where she met her husband, Mervyn They married ten days after graduating and moved to Scotland where Erin joined a Scottish bank as a graduate recruit Ten years later she d had enough of the long working hours culture and decided to pack it all in to write her first novel Mothers and Daughters was published in 2003, followed in 2004 by Choices, Second Chances in 2005, Closer to Home in 2006 and My Husband s Lover in 2008.Erin lives in North Berwick on the East Coast of Scotland with her husband, two young sons, Ryan and Liam, and Murphy the dog.Star sign ScorpioMiddle name AnneParents Pat and JimSiblings Mary, Janet, Jim and Susan


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *