[[ pdf ]] The Reaper Author Steven Dunne – Vansonphu.com

The Reaper A damaged detectiveA case he s trying to forgetA killer who won t let him Detective Inspector Damen Brook thinks he s left his past behind him in London But it seems a serial killer has followed him north Brook s seeking sanctuary Years in the MET have left their mark so much so that he s fled to Derby leaving behind his marriage, his teenage daughter and very nearly his sanity to wind down a once promising career in the peace of the Peak DistrictBut one winter s night, Brook is confronted by a serial killer he hunted many years before The Reaper a man who slaughters families in their homes then disappears without a traceTo find this killer Brook must discover what the Reaper is doing in Derby, why he s started killing again and what, if anything, connects the butchered familiesAs Brook becomes entangled in a deadly game of cat and mouse, he is forced to face his own demons by confronting a past that destroyed his family and destroyed his family and nearly cost him his life A heart stopping thriller from a stunning new crime talent, for fans of Stuart MacBrie and Thomas Harris


About the Author: Steven Dunne

Steven left Rhodesway School in Bradford, Yorkshire in 1976 after taking A levels He graduated from Kent University in 1979 and, after taking a year s Post Graduate Certificate in Education at St Mary s College in Twickenham, he undertook a variety of jobs in London, including Public Relations Consultant, freelance Journalist and supply teacher He wrote occasional articles for The Guardian, The Times and The Independent while working on various writing projects including his own brief career in stand up comedy During this time he co wrote a comedy pilot for Channel 4 entitled Not Enough Poodles but, unfortunately it fell at the final commissioning hurdle He wrote the Book for the award winning Latchmere Theatre Christmas pantomime of Hansel and Gretel in 1989 In 1988, he began teaching English in Croydon before moving to Derby in 1996, where he began to think about writing a novel After being turned onto thrillers by Thomas Harris The Silence of the Lambs, he realised that most thrillers failed to deliver their promised exitement, so in 2007, after spending two fruitless years marketing the novel to the publishing industry, Steven self published Reaper, a thriller about a serial killer who strikes in Derby It sold over 1500 copies in the East Midlands and in 2008, and received very encouraging reviews Harper Collins bought the rights and The Reaper was released internationally in 2009 A sequel, The Disciple, was released in August 2010 Both books were critically acclaimed He signed a publishing deal at Headline to release the next DI Brook thriller Deity, which will be released in June 2012.You can also contact him on Facebook.



10 thoughts on “The Reaper

  1. Jules Jules says:

    The Reaper and the rest of the series was recommended to me by a number of my friends Due to these recommendations I bought the first book in the series If I m completely honest, I did put off reading this for quite a while, as I often struggle to get excited about crime novels, especially police procedural ones, which can often have too many characters to keep track of and


  2. Christine Christine says:

    I read A Killing Moon earlier this year and developed a fascination with Damen Brook So much of his history was alluded to, that I simply had to find outThe Reaper introduces Brook and is the d but novel by Steven Dunne.We meet Damen Brook, a Detective Inspector working in Derby He comes across as rather damaged man, picking up the pieces of his life He had a nervous breakdown and in


  3. Emma Emma says:

    You can tell this is the author s early work It s clunky, both in style and plot There were moments that brought it up a notch, but they were few and far between I m not convinced by the main character and his endless whining, but the ending does give hope for the future of the series Not sure I ll continue on Especially as Dunne killed a cat Sometimes writers go too far.


  4. BookwormDH BookwormDH says:

    Detective Inspector Damen Brook thinks he s left his past behind him in London But it seems a serial killer has followed him north Brook s seeking sanctuary Years in the MET have left their mark so much so that he s fled to Derby leaving behind his marriage, his teenage daughter and very nearly his sanity to wind down a once promising career in the peace of the Peak District.But one winter s night,


  5. Kate~Bibliophile Book Club Kate~Bibliophile Book Club says:

    When I first started reading The Reaper I had absolutely no idea what to expect All I knew was what I had read from the blurb, and the rave reviews fellow bloggers and friends had written also got a look in as well I d had The Reaper on my kindle for AAAAAAGES, and seeing as how it was recommended to me again recently, I decided it was about time I met DI Damen Brook.Brook is undeniably flawed, but it is bo


  6. Susan Hampson Susan Hampson says:

    This is a series that I was always going to get round to, as I bought this book way back in August 2015 along with other books that just kept getting added to my ever growing TBR pile of kindle titles Now although I should be one book down on my TBR pile I am actually 5up because if this is Steven Dunne s debut novel then the rest of the series are high priority must reads I have always been intrigued by a man who


  7. Rob Twinem Rob Twinem says:

    Starts of as a tour de force crime story centred around DI Damen Brook newly moved to Derby from the Met It would appear that Brook is not the only person to have settled in Derby for when a family is murdered the case bears all the hallmarks of The Reaper a killer that Brook previously failed to apprehend in London and is now terrorizing him anew in the beautiful Derbyshire peak district The first half of the story is ver


  8. Kristina Kristina says:

    The Reaper by Steven Dunne is the first in the Inspector Brook series It s awful I m shocked and disappointed by this discovery because I read the fifth book in the series, A Killing Moon and enjoyed it immensely Either Steven Dunne improved massively as a writer over time or his publisher employed a much better editor whichever it is this first book is such a boring mess of a novel that I couldn t finish it, even with less than


  9. Lynda Lynda says:

    I really enjoyed this book Dark, chilling and well written Since reading it I have gone on to read the others in the series The Disciple, Deity, The Unquiet Grave and Under A Killing Moon and loved them all In fact they get better and better as they go along Damon Brook is an interesting character, flawed enough to make him really interesting.I cannot recommend this series of books highly enough and The Reaper is a brilliant opening book.


  10. Alexina Alexina says:

    Fantastic start to a good series.Couldn t out this book down.Loved the plotlines and characters Even the unlikeable ones.Shall move straight on to the next in the serieshope the greatness carries on


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *