[ Prime ] Topics of Conversation Author Miranda Popkey – Vansonphu.com

Topics of Conversation For readers of Sally Rooney, Rachel Cusk, Lydia Davis, and Jenny Offill a compact tour de force about sex, violence, and self loathing from a ferociously talented new voice in fiction Miranda Popkey s first novel is about desire, disgust, motherhood, loneliness, art, pain, feminism, anger, envy, guilt written in language that sizzles with intelligence and eroticism The novel is composed almost exclusively of conversations between women the stories they tell each other, and the stories they tell themselves, about shame and love, infidelity and self sabotage and careens through twenty years in the life of an unnamed narrator hungry for experience and bent on upending her life Edgy, wry, shot through with rage and despair, Topics of Conversation introduces an audacious and immensely gifted new novelist


About the Author: Miranda Popkey

Is a well known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the Topics of Conversation book, this is one of the most wanted Miranda Popkey author readers around the world.



10 thoughts on “Topics of Conversation

  1. Dita Dita says:

    I ve seen this book described as gorgeous , poignant and important.Maybe I m not as smart or as deep as these readers but maybe, just maybe, I caught something they didn t It felt to me that it was farimportant for the author to be perceived this way than it was to truly write this way.You know how som


  2. Angela Angela says:

    I found this book to be pretentious and disengaging Aside from the fact that none of the characters were likable, the book itself is written in primarily run on sentences If I wanted to read a Faulkner book, I would have and would have enjoyed it , because Faulkner tells stories I cannot for the life of me fi


  3. Book of the Month Book of the Month says:

    Why I love itby Cristina ArreolaTopics of Conversation is my worst nightmare come true a book in which my darkest, most shameful, most secret thoughts are laid bare on the page The title of this brisk, slim novel hints at its atypical structure in lieu of a conventional plot, this novel takes us through twenty dispa


  4. Skyler Autumn Skyler Autumn says:

    4 Stars This is how Miranda Popkey should feel about the bashing she s getting on Goodreads This book is great Smart, intelligent and full of intricate thought provoking conversations that stay with you BUT if you re going to get all upset reading a book with run on sentences may I suggest picking up something else or just


  5. Rachel Rachel says:

    In a way I feel a bit bad contributing to this book s overwhelmingly negative reception, because I do think it hasgoing for it than its low Goodreads rating might suggest, and I can see where others could get something out of it But at the same time, this did literally nothing for me, so here we are.The Rachel Cusk comparisons ar


  6. Larry H Larry H says:

    Miranda Popkey s Topics of Conversation is a novel of commentary on issues about gender, sex, and violence, framed as conversations.I m going to call this review a maybeitsmenotyou review I read a lot, as many of you know, and I feel like I get themes and issues and situations even if I can t personally identify with them But every so o


  7. Paris (parisperusing) Paris (parisperusing) says:

    There is, below the surface of every conversation in which intimacies are shared, an erotic current Sometimes this current is so hot it all but boils and other times it s barely lukewarm, hardly noticeable, but always the current is present, if only you plunge your hands in just an inch or two farther down in the water This is regardless of th


  8. Doug Doug says:

    2.5, rounded down.I have to say, the really low ratings on this book here on GR are probably the result of a really stupid marketing ploy that backfired when you compare a so so debut work to the likes of Cusk, Rooney, Davis and Offill and then utterly fail to deliver anything close to that, naturally people are going to be mad and react accordingly


  9. Claire Reads Books Claire Reads Books says:

    I finished this novel which is actually just a collection of inane MFA short stories about bad women two weeks ago, and it was so forgettable, uninspiring, and blatantly derivative that I only just remembered to log it on Goodreads Just go read Rachel Cusk instead.


  10. The Nerd Daily The Nerd Daily says:

    Originally published on The Nerd Daily Review by Beth MowbrayReading the synopsis alone for Topics of Conversation evokes a powerful set of emotions Take a look Miranda Popkey writes of desire, disgust, motherhood, loneliness, art, pain, feminism, anger, envy, and guilt composed almost exclusively of conversations between women the stories they tell each other, an


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *