[[ read online eBook ]] Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II Author Liza Mundy – Vansonphu.com

Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, Code Girls is the astonishing, untold story of the young American women who cracked key Axis codes, helping to secure Allied victory and revolutionizing the field of cryptanalysisRecruited by the US Army and Navy from small towns and elite colleges, than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to Washington and learned the meticulous work of code breaking Their efforts shortened the war, saved countless lives, and gave them access to careers previously denied to them A strict vow of secrecy nearly erased their efforts from history now, through dazzling research and interviews with surviving code girls, bestselling author Liza Mundy brings to life this riveting and vital story of American courage, service, and scientific accomplishment


About the Author: Liza Mundy

Liza Mundy is the New York Times bestselling author of The Richer Sex How the New Majority of Female Breadwinners Is Transforming Sex, Love and Family and Michelle A Biography She has worked as a reporter at the Washington Post and contributed to numerous publications including The Atlantic, TIME, The New Republic, Slate, Mother Jones, and The Guardian She is a frequent commentator on countless prominent national television, radio, and online news outlets and has positioned herself at the prestigious New America Foundation as one of the nation s foremost experts on women and work issues.



10 thoughts on “Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II

  1. Julie Barnard Julie Barnard says:

    My mother was in the Navy during World War II doing code breaking she was at Terminal Island near Long Beach in Southern California She had been a classics major in college, studying Latin and Greek The book was fascinating and made me wish that I could talk to her and ask the dozens of questions I never did.


  2. Katie B Katie B says:

    4.5 starsSo glad I finally got around to reading this one as it was everything I hoped it would be I love reading books that showcase remarkable women doing extraordinary things Highly recommend if you enjoy non fiction, history about World War 2, and or books that celebrate the achievements of women Having watched the movie The Imitation Game, I had some basic knowledge about codebreaking during


  3. Kaitlyn Red Wing Kaitlyn Red Wing says:

    I was provided with a free copy of this book by NetGalley and Little, Brown in exchange for my honest review All opinions are my own.I m always game for a book centered around World War II Add women and their major role and you ve got me hooked Code Girls is like taking a walk through history A walk that is so rarely acknowledged and respected While men were oversees fighting, women stepped up, Mundy give


  4. Suzanne Leopold (Suzy Approved Book Reviews) Suzanne Leopold (Suzy Approved Book Reviews) says:

    Beginning in 1941 secret letters were sent across the country to women attending college requesting their service for the war effort Tens of thousands of women from prestigious northeastern colleges, southern teaching schools, and many other walks of life answered the calls of the U.S Navy and Army to serve as code breakers during World War II These unsung heroes left their small towns, big cities, and families b


  5. Pamela Pamela says:

    EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENTA ll along there have been female geniuses whose contributions are as important as their male counterparts It s just that far less attention had been paid to them, and often these women were denied the top spots that would have brought themrecognition.Best work of historical nonfiction for 2017, by a landslide Had I finished Liza Mundy s outstanding tome Code Girls before the onset of the Rea


  6. Kat Kat says:

    This was an interesting look at the process by which women were recruited, trained and sent to work in code breaking facilities for the American military during World War Two I ve been enjoying some of these untold slices of history, and this was another really cool one, following young girls, mostly right out of college with few prospects other than teaching school and making up for there being teacher shortages by covering cla


  7. Lisa Lisa says:

    The Interesting Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers who Helped Win World War IISUMMARYMore than 10,000 women served as codebreakers during World War II They were recruited by both the US Army and Navy from small towns and elite colleges While their brothers and boyfriend took up arms, these women moved to Washington and learned the meticulous work of code breaking Their effort shorten the war, save countless lives and gave


  8. Cynthia Cynthia says:

    Though I ve long been interested in the WWll code work all my reading up until now was about Bletchley Park and the work the Brits did so Code Girls was a welcome addition to my ongoing quest for understanding of this topic The focus stays firmly on the women s perspective which was a welcome though often frustrating outlook The often very young women, new college grads or even teenagers, accomplished amazing things while getting little credit


  9. Katie Katie says:

    A really hard to follow but ultimately rewarding book Liza Mundy mostly describes the experiences of two code breakers Dot and Ruth Through their eyes, we are able to see the inner workings of what was one of the most secretive US operations during WWII This book is a treasure trove of information These women were responsible for saving thousands of lives and on the other hand, they bore the weight of destroying thousands of others most notably they br


  10. Faith Faith says:

    Maybe this was a case of having too much research material available and not wanting to waste any of it However, I thought that this book contained way too much information about train rides, living accommodations, letters to soldiers, engagements and other domestic details There was also a problem of having too many names While I believe that it s a good thing for all of these women to get recognition, none of them stood out to me, and the book became a recit


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *